Pelvic Pain Sucks

 


Endometriosis

Chronic pelvic pain patients are a tough bunch. We have to be. We’ve endured pain, frustration and loss in just about every area of our lives, from jobs to relationships. We’ve spent endless hours waiting in countless doctor’s offices for an uncertain diagnosis of an obscure condition that we don’t want to have and doctors don’t want to treat.

If you are a doctor who deals with chronic pelvic pain, believe your patients. We are suffering. Nobody seeks a diagnosis like this. It is an invisible illness which is humiliating to explain, and horrendous to live with. It takes a toll physically, mentally and emotionally. And, not only is there no cure, but available treatments are often ineffective and can even cause more suffering.

Help us if new treatment options become available, and if those don’t work, help us with ways of managing the pain. Sometimes that’s the best we can do.

5 responses to “Pelvic Pain Sucks

  1. Can I simply say what a comfort to find someone that really
    understands what they are talking about over the internet.

    You definitely know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More and more people really need to look at this and understand this side of your story.

    I was surprised that you’re not more popular since
    you most certainly have the gift.

  2. Coral, why thank you so much!
    I do this for every person out there who is suffering like I was. I remember too well how terrifying it was, feeling so alone and desperate with pain. I used to comb the internet trying to find any information I could, and when I found stories of others it helped get me through. The internet was a lifesaver because I knew I was not the only one suffering. If I can do the same for someone else, that is what I hope for.

  3. After my sixth failed nerve block I gratefully just came upon your information. Thank you very, very much. I am sure I will be in touch at some point

  4. Hi Nancy,
    I’m glad you found my blog helpful. You are not alone as far as nerve blocks. I had terrible experiences with them — during my second block it felt like the dr. knicked the nerve — I almost jumped off the table… I found out later that I should never have let a doctor perform an unguided block on me… but I was trusting because this dr. was supposed to be one of the “best.” I was barely able to walk out of there.

Leave a Reply

